What I’ve read, What I’m going to read, And what I’m watching.

Music: A Lack Of Color by Death Cab For Cutie

Was it Dad?

Maybe.

Whoever it was, it was somebody.

I ripped the pages out of the book.

I reversed the order, so the last one was first, and the first was last.

When I flipped through them, it looked like the man was floating up through the sky.

And if i’d had more pictures, he would’ve flown through a window back into the building and the smoke would’ve poured into the hole that the plane was about to come out of.

Dad would’ve left his messages backward, until the machine was empty and the plane would’ve flown backward away from him all the way to Boston.

He would’ve taken the elevator to the street and pressed the button for the top floor.

He would’ve walked backward to the subway and the subway would’ve gone backward through the tunnel, back to our stop.

Dad would’ve gone backward through the turnstile, then swiped his Metrocard backward, then walked home backward as he read the New York Times from right to left.

He would’ve spit coffee into his mug, unbrushed his teeth, and put hair on his face with a razor.

He would’ve gotten back into bed, the alarm would’ve rung backward, he would’ve dreamt backward.

Then he would’ve gotten up again at the end of the night before the worst day.

He would’ve walked backward to my room, whistling “I Am the Walrus” backward.

He would’ve gotten into bed with me.

We would’ve looked at the stars on my ceiling which would’ve pulled back their light from our eyes.

I’d have said “Nothing” backward.

He would have said: “Yeah, buddy?” backward.

I’d said “Dad?” backward which would have sounded the same as “Dad” forward.

He would have told me the story of the Sixth Borough, from the voice in the can at the end to the beginning, from “I love you” to “Once upon a time”

We would have been safe.

Wow. Even though Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close is fictional, it brought me closer to reconciling with everything that changed the world ten years ago.

Something I felt newspapers and magazines like Time couldn’t capture accurately. Because it touched my heart on a personal level.

And ohmygosh there’s the movie to look forward to next year! On Jan 20.

Currently reading:

1. A Short History Of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson. As recommended by one of my seniors in there who kinda has lots of books on his iPod Touch, which is cool.

Will be reading:

1. Outliers: The Story Of Success by Malcolm Gladwell (Why do some people achieve far more in life than others?)

He’s the guy who wrote The Tipping Point and Blink. Which reminds me, I still haven’t returned The Tipping Point back to Lucas yet. Gahh…

2. The Invisible Gorilla and other ways our intuition deceives us. When I first saw the book my fellow soldier-mate was reading back then during our days going through courses, my first thought went to that cool Youtube video which kinda proved that people may not take notice of a Chimpanzee/Gorilla appearing, if there are other things to distract you. I borrowed this book together with the other two books mentioned previously from Bishan Library. Amazing how you can get the things you want for free, despite the library itself being relatively small.

3. And I managed to borrow Everything Is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer, the guy who wrote Extremely Loud and Incredibly Curious, which I thought was extremely beautiful and incredibly good. Everything Is Illuminated is thus a natural want for me.

Gahh… So many cool/good/interesting things to read. Library gives me a due date that’s less than a month to complete all of the readings. If only I needn’t serve NS. Gah that’ll be wonderful. And I haven’t started on the things that I want to watch and the music I want to listen to.

Some of the things I watch on Youtube will include the video/audio representation of the books that I’m reading/going to read.

But besides that:

1. There’s Muse @ Reading Festival 2011. I’ll selectively watch the parts of the concert that’s either superduperepic/new.

2. Suppressed Science – Inventing the Impossible. One of the several documentary series from UFOTV which I’m recently quite interested in. I was listening to The Secrets Of Nikola Tesla (Remember the definition of Tesla? Yeah that guy.) on my MP3 player and that kinda brought me here.

There’s moremoremore but I guess that’s all for today, if not i won’t find the time to complete my reading. I love how I hate Youtube for recommending me more stuff to watch which are superdupercool.

Off now!

Leave a comment